Log in

JASSA Events

Along with other special events, the Autumn Matsuri festival was a great sucess.  There was quite an array of music, dance, foods, arts and crafts, martial arts, tea ceremony, flower arrangement, and cosplay. Thanks to all who attended and those who worked so hard to make it a success!

JASSA participates in the Annual Asian New Year Festival to bring Japanese foods, culture, and activities to thousands of people.  New additions include the King William Fair, Founders Day Celebration, Koi Festival, and Anime Convention.

If you are interested in helping with planning and initiation of these wonderful events, please contact our board of directors.  You can also indicate your interests on your membership profile through this website.


Education & Culture

JASSA coordinates scholarships, offer Japanese Language Classes, Calligraphy Classes, Outreach activities for K-12 schools, and much more.  For more on our educational programs, see JASSA Educational Programs.

Throughout the year, we sponsor or host demonstrations in Japanese arts and culture, many co-sponsored by our sister City, Kumamoto City, Japan. Watch our events calendar for more opportunities and information.


Japan-America Relations

Through its Sister City Committee, JASSA assists visiting groups and individuals who have come to San Antonio from Kumamoto.

JASSA also works with San Antonio Department of International Relations and other organizations for special events and international programs.


Quarterly Meetings

Meetings of the Society are an opportunity to gather with others who are interested in Japan and its culture.

Whether it is for planning, networking, or just the chance to visit in English and Japanese with others who share that heritage, meetings are some of the liveliest part of JASSA membership.

Officers

Nobuaki Yokoo
President
nobuaki.yokoo@jas-sa.org


 


Yuka Dorsey
 1st Vice President 
(Membership)
yuka.dorsey@jas-sa.org

 


Jessica Maple
2nd Vice President 
(Program)
jessica.maple@jas-sa.org

 


Yuko Kawabe
3rd Vice President 
(Education)
yuko.kawabe@jas-sa.org


  

Masahiko Kamata
4th Vice President
(Business and Economic Development)
masahiko.kamata@jas-sa.org


Vacant
5th Vice President
(Cultural Activities)
nobuaki.yokoo@jas-sa.org



Espie Robertson
6th Vice President
(Event Coordinator)
espie.robertson@jas-sa.org

 


Yana Indah
Treasurer
yana.indah@jas-sa.org



Gilbert Vazquez
Legal Advisor 
gilbert.vazquez@jas-sa.org



Rocio Yokoo
Kumamoto Sister-City Chair
Hospitality Chair
rocio.yokoo@jas-sa.org
      

Vacant
Parliamentarian

 


Jonathan Macias
Technology Services
jonathan.macias@jas-sa.org


Miyako Wallace
Immediate Past President


 

This site is made possible by the National Association of Japan America Societies & The Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnerships.
Have a question or comment? Feel free to contact us any time!


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software